Media Release for 2019 Alberta Auctioneers Association Convention.

Media Release 2019


The Auctioneers Association of Alberta held its’ 85th Annual Convention at the Premier Best Western Hotel in Calgary on January 31, February 1, and 2nd,2019 There were approximately 140 people in attendance.

Dale Menzak of Vegreville was re-elected President. Wade Michener from Calgary is Vice President. John Arnold, Lethbridge is our Past President.

There were four positions open for directors. Re-elected for three years were Dale Menzak, Jason Philp, Didsbury, Rod Burnett West Kelowna. Newly elected was Michael Jennings, Condor. Other directors are Joe Perlich, Lethbridge, Andrew Reeleder, Bentley. Tracy Pollard, Edmonton, Mickey Spencer, Fort Saskatchewan, Darrell Domes, Calgary, Justin Mayer, Drayton Valley and Wade Michener, Calgary. Bill Henke is liaison for BC auctioneers.  Lorraine Klepper is Secretary-treasurer.

This year we held our second Bid Catching Competition. 12 members participated.  Dave Johnson from Norglenwold took away the belt buckle. 

We held our ninth annual All Around Canadian Auctioneer Championship.  We had 20 auctioneers registered for the competition. Champion was Bobby Miller, Eckville, Rod Snopek from Tees placed second, Rob Bergevin from Stavely placed third. Andrew Reeleder placed fourth and Adam Cripps, Illinois was fifth.

The Vern Scown Memorial Tyro Contest was won by Jordon Smith, Ponoka.  The Tyro Contest is an auction contest for auctioneers who have graduated from an auction school within the last two years. There were 11 auctioneers in the competition.

Darren Isaac won the best Business Card trophy.

Best web page trophy went to Gordon & Charlene Musgrove. (Gateway Auctions)

50-year plaque and pin were presented to Jim Juris from Picture Butte and Laurie Lindstrand from Camrose. Ray Johnston was not in attendance.

In attendance to receive their 40-year pin and plaque were Wally Couey, Cayley, John Perlich, Lethbridge and Delton Wolff, Dapp. Frank Hall and Eldon Kobberstad did not attend.  

25-year plaque and pin recipients in attendance were Rob Bergevin from Stavely and Merv Grunow from Czar.  Not in attendance were Alex Blahun, Don Deputan, Doug Kennedy, Mike Kosick, Mike Lakusta, Neil Kramer, David Lyons, Chance Martin and Peter Raffan.

Distinguished Service Award was presented to John Perlich of, Lethbridge by his son Joe.   John was very deserving of this award.

There were people in attendance from BC, AB, SK, MB, and the US.

Members sell prints at various events to raise money for the Stollery Children’s Hospital in Edmonton and the Alberta Children's Hospital in Calgary. We did well this past year, but the association is always in need of members to sell these pictures.  Please contact the office if you are interested.  

Another new and exciting project, we as an association are awarding two $ each year.  Last year the scholarships were awarded to John Baier of Provost and Grady Brown of Stavely.

Next years Convention will be held in Drayton Valley. Watch our web page for details.  

For more information call 403-340-2070.

Ian Buchanan